Published on 22/06/2023

5 organizations, including ENDA Santé, are implementing the Santé Urbaine (SU) project to support the Dakar medical region and contribute to health outcomes.

With a population of 3.8 million, Dakar is one of the most densely populated areas in Senegal, representing 23% of the country's total population. The pressure exerted by the city's inhabitants on their environment (urbanization, transport) has adverse effects on health.  

Limited access to drinking water, rough sewage and waste management or drainage has the potential to exacerbate challenges such as vulnerabilities to climate change and emerging health threats, including the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and maintaining essential health services during a health emergency.  

Added to this is the lack of resources, which limits access to health care, particularly sexual and reproductive health care, for poor families, especially women and young people.  

To provide some answers, a consortium made up of the lead partner PATH, ENDA Santé, ACTION et DEVELOPPEMENT, Alliance du Secteur Privé de la Santé du Sénégal (ASPS), and Open Développement (Open Dev ) has set up the project Urban Health (SU)supported and financed by USAID. These organizations bring diverse and synergistic expertise in health systems strengthening, service quality and integration, data for action, innovation and sustainability, private sector engagement, and social and behavioral change.  

The aim is to improve health outcomes in the areas of reproductive, maternal, neonatal, child and adolescent health (SMRNIA), nutrition, family planning, malaria prevention and treatment, and water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH). 

ENDA Santé is responsible for the mobilization and participation of the community and all stakeholders in the governance of the health sector. Civil society organizations and grassroots community players are involved in a number of health-related initiatives. These have made a significant contribution to improving people's health. However, these actions are poorly coordinated. What's more, we note that civil society and community players do not play a very effective role in drawing up health programs. This leads to a lack of effectiveness and efficiency in interventions.

Rethinking the urban health ecosystem with a holistic approach to engaging the private sector, local partnerships and communities

Urban healthThe Urban Health project offers an unprecedented opportunity to improve health equity in Dakar. It will help key stakeholders to rethink the urban health ecosystem, including strengthening local government accountability, improving access to finance, responsiveness and quality of services, building health system resilience, and adopting a whole-of-society perspective to engage the private sector, local partnerships and communities. 

The challenge is to encourage the participation of civil society players and communities as a whole in the emergence of a strong healthcare system in which all players participate in the healthcare effort to ensure accessible, quality healthcare for all. 

ENDA Santé's action, in collaboration with the Guédiawaye, Yeumbeul and Keur Massar health districts, begins with capacity-building sessions for community actors (ACCP) in these districts on the SRMNIA+ Nut+ Wash package. The sessions bring together community players and civil society organizations, and promote a shared understanding of the issues at stake, to enable players to take preventive action.

Share

Publié le 22/06/2023

5 organisations dont ENDA Santé, mettent en oeuvre le projet Santé Urbaine (SU) pour appuyer la région médicale de Dakar et contribuer aux résultats de santé

A Dakar, le taux de densité humaine est l’un des plus élevé au Sénégal avec 3,8 millions d’habitants, soit 23% de la population sénégalaise. La pression qu’exercent les habitants sur leur environnement (urbanisation, transports), a des effets néfastes sur la santé.  

L’accès limité à l’eau potable, la gestion approximative des égouts, et des déchets ou le drainage a le potentiel d’exacerber les défis, tels que les vulnérabilités au changement climatique et aux menaces sanitaires émergentes, notamment la réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, et le maintien des services de santé essentiels pendant une urgence sanitaire.  

Il s’y ajoute le manque de moyen qui limite les familles démunies surtout les femmes et les jeunes à l’accès aux soins de santé notamment en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive.  

Pour apporter des éléments de réponse, un consortium composé de la tête de file PATH, ENDA Santé, ACTION et DEVELOPPEMENT, Alliance du Secteur Privé de la Santé du Sénégal (ASPS), et Open Développement (Open Dev) a mis en place le projet Santé Urbaine (SU),soutenu et financé par l’USAID. Ces différentes organisations apportent une expertise diverse et synergique dans le renforcement des systèmes de santé, la qualité et l’intégration des services, les données pour l’action, l’innovation et la durabilité, l’engagement du secteur privé, et le changement social et comportemental.  

Le but visé est d’améliorer les résultats de santé dans les domaines de la santé reproductive, maternelle, néonatale, infantile et adolescente (SMRNIA), la nutrition, le planning familial, la prévention et le traitement du paludisme, l’eau, l’assainissement et l’hygiène (WASH). 

ENDA Santé a en charge dans le projet du volet mobilisation et participation de la communauté et de toutes les parties prenantes à la gouvernance du secteur de la santé accrue et effective.   Les organisations de la société civile et les acteurs communautaires de base mènent plusieurs interventions dans le domaine de la santé. Celles-ci ont beaucoup contribué à l’amélioration de la santé des populations. Cependant, ces actions sont peu coordonnées. De surcroît, nous notons une participation peu effective de la société civile et des acteurs communautaires dans l’élaboration des programmes de santé. Ce qui entraine, le manque d’efficacité et d’efficience dans les interventions.

Repenser l’écosystème de la santé urbaine par une approche globale pour engager le secteur privé, les partenariats locaux et les communautés

Santé urbaine, offre une opportunité sans précédent d’améliorer l’équité en matière de santé à Dakar. Il aidera les principales parties prenantes à repenser l’écosystème de la santé urbaine, notamment en renforçant la responsabilité du gouvernement local, en améliorant l’accès au financement, la réactivité et la qualité des services, en renforçant la résilience du système de santé et en adoptant une perspective globale de la société pour engager le secteur privé, les partenariats locaux et les communautés. 

L’enjeu est de favoriser la participation des acteurs de la société civile et l’ensemble des communautés pour l’émergence d’un système de santé fort où les acteurs participeront à l’effort de santé pour des soins de santé accessible à tous et de qualité. 

L’action de ENDA Santé, en collaboration avec les districts sanitaires de Guédiawaye, Yeumbeul et Keur Massar, débute par des sessions de renforcement de capacités des acteurs communautaires (ACCP) de ces districts sur le paquet SRMNIA+ Nut+ Wash. Les sessions regroupent les acteurs communautaires et les organisations de la société civile et favorisent une compréhension commune des enjeux afin de permettre aux acteurs de mener des actions de prévention.

Partager
D’autres articles qui pourraient vous intéresser