Our story

ENDA Santé is an international non-profit organisation based in Senegal. It is an entity in charge of health programmes within ENDA Tiers Monde, alongside 24 other thematic areas.

The parent organisation, Environment and Development in the Third World (ENDA-TM), was founded in 1972 in Dakar as a joint programme of the United Nations Environment Programme, the African Institute for Economic Development and Planning and the Swedish International Development Organisation. It was incorporated on 27 June 1978 as an international non-profit organisation.

Since 1987, ENDA Santé has been collaborating with community-based organisations, governmental and international structures in the implementation of programmes to combat AIDS and malaria and to promote community health initiatives in Senegal and West Africa.

In order to strengthen its intervention and face new challenges, the organisation has opened up to other themes, in particular the reproductive health of adolescents and young people and women, as well as gender-based violence.

In August 2006, ENDA Santé received the International Red Ribbon Award, given in Toronto to the 25 best projects in the fight against AIDS. In 2011, ENDA Santé was granted administrative autonomy.

Within the organisation, the story is written by doctors, agricultural engineers, pharmacists, economists, researchers, project management specialists, sociologists and specialists in human resources, communication, social workers but also statisticians, geographers and financiers.

Various profiles, from different backgrounds to contribute to :

  • Access to adequate health information and services for the most vulnerable groups
  • Training, support and knowledge sharing in health and development
  • Improving reproductive health care for women, young adolescents and young people
  • Prevention of gender-based violence and support for victims of GBV
  • The promotion of actions and actors involved in health and development

Share

Notre histoire

ENDA Santé est une organisation internationale sans but lucratif, basée au Sénégal. Il s’agit d’une entité en charge des programmes de Santé au sein de ENDA Tiers Monde, à côté de 24 autres domaines thématiques.

L’organisation-mère, Environnement et Développement du Tiers Monde (ENDA-TM), a été fondée en 1972 à Dakar comme programme conjoint du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’Environnement, de l’Institut Africain de Développement Économique et de Planification et de l’Organisation Suédoise pour le Développement International. Elle s’est constituée le 27 juin 1978 comme organisation internationale à caractère associatif et à but non lucratif.

Depuis 1987, ENDA Santé collabore avec les organisations communautaires de base, les structures gouvernementales et internationales dans la mise en œuvre d’actions de programmes de lutte contre le sida, le paludisme et de promotion des initiatives de santé communautaire au Sénégal et en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Pour renforcer son intervention et faire face aux nouveaux défis, l’organisation s’est ouverte à d’autres thématiques notamment la santé reproductive des jeunes adolescents et jeunes et des femmes ainsi que  les violences basées sur le genre.

En Août 2006, ENDA Santé a reçu le prix international Red Ribbon Award, décerné à Toronto aux 25 meilleurs projets de lutte contre le Sida. C’est en 2011, que ENDA Santé a eu son autonomie administrative.

Au sein de l’organisation, l’histoire est écrite par des médecins, des ingénieurs agronomes, des pharmaciens, des économistes, des chercheurs, des spécialistes en gestion de projet, des sociologues et spécialistes en ressources humaines, en communication, des travailleurs sociaux mais aussi des statisticiens, des géographes et des financiers.

Divers profils, de différents horizons pour contribuer à :

  • L’accès à l’information et aux services de santé adéquats pour les groupes les plus vulnérables
  • La formation, l’accompagnement et la mutualisation des savoirs en santé et développement
  • L’amélioration des soins de santé reproductive pour les femmes, des adolescents jeunes et les jeunes
  • La prévention des violences basées sur le genre et l’accompagnement des victimes de VBG
  • La valorisation des actions et des acteurs intervenants en santé et développement

Partager