Published on 13/11/2020

Community response to COVID-19: Enda Santé trains community relays in areas still affected

To respond effectively to COVID-19 and mitigate its adverse effects, impacted countries need greater involvement of competent local partners.   

The emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic presents new challenges to already strained health systems around the world. The NPI EXPAND (New Partners for Better Health) intervention helps countries engage new and under-utilised partners to leverage community structures and provide innovative and scalable solutions to strengthen emergency preparedness and response.   

Strengthening the engagement of local organisations should help foster sustainable and resilient health systems and community responses that can mitigate the spread of COVID-19 and prepare for future threats.

The NPI EXPAND activity is designed to increase the availability and use of health services by strengthening the technical and organisational capacity of New and Underused Partners (NUPs) and helping them scale up health innovations.

In Senegal, NPI EXPAND has identified the Association Conseil pour l'Action (ACA) and ENDA Santé as partners for the implementation of this emergency programme in the regions of Dakar, Diourbel and Thiès, with the following objectives  

  • To improve the perception and understanding of the risks faced by the populations of the three regions mentioned above;
  • Promote the adoption of internationally recommended barrier measures adopted in Senegal to curb the spread of the disease;
  • To support local and central health authorities in the identification of positive cases, referral for screening and management according to the standards and procedures in force in Senegal.
Share

Publié le 13/11/2020

Réponse communautaire au COVID-19 : Enda Santé forme les relais communautaires des zones encore touchées

Pour répondre efficacement à la COVID-19 et atténuer ses effets néfastes, les pays impactés ont besoin d’une participation accrue de partenaires locaux compétents.   

L’émergence de la pandémie de la COVID-19 présente de nouveaux défis pour les systèmes de santé déjà sous tension dans le monde. L’intervention du projet NPI EXPAND (New Partners for Better Health) aide les pays à engager des partenaires nouveaux et sous-utilisés pour tirer parti des structures communautaires et fournir des solutions innovantes et évolutives pour renforcer la préparation et la réponse aux situations d’urgence.   

Le renforcement de l’engagement des organisations locales devrait aider à favoriser des systèmes de santé et des réponses communautaires durables et résilientes qui peuvent atténuer la propagation de la COVID-19 et se préparer aux menaces futures.

L’activité NPI EXPAND est conçue pour augmenter la disponibilité et l’utilisation des services de santé, en renforçant les capacités techniques et organisationnelles des partenaires nouveaux et sous-utilisés (NUP) et en les aidant à intensifier les innovations en matière de santé.

Au Sénégal, NPI EXPAND a identifié l’Association Conseil pour l’Action (ACA) et ENDA Santé, comme partenaires pour la mise en œuvre de ce programme d’urgence dans les régions de Dakar, Diourbel et Thiès, avec pour objectifs de :  

  • Améliorer la perception et la compréhension des risques encourus par les populations des trois régions précitées ;
  • Favoriser l’adoption des mesures barrières recommandées au niveau international et adoptées au Sénégal pour freiner la propagation de la maladie ;
  • Appuyer les autorités sanitaires au niveau local et au niveau central dans l’identification de cas positifs, la référence pour le dépistage et la prise en charge selon les normes et procédures en vigueur au Sénégal.
Partager