Published on 01/29/2024

Meeting of the CARES II International Steering Committee.

As phase 2 of the CARES project gets underway in Senegal and Guinea-Bissau, the health authorities, in this case the Director of Health for Ziguinchor, the technical, financial and operational partners and the ENDA Santé team are meeting to present the broad outlines of the second phase of the project for the period 2024-2027. This meeting of the International Steering Committee is held annually and constitutes the strategic and guiding body of the program.

Casamance Research Program on HIV-Resistance and sexual health (CARES) is a project implemented by ENDA Santé in Senegal and Guinea Bissau to strengthen health system capacities through clinical and community management of problems linked to HIV, hepatitis B virus (HBV) and papillomavirus (HPV).

At this meeting, the results of the external evaluation of the first phase of CARES were shared. The study highlighted the "relevance" of the project and the positive effects of the interventions in terms of strengthening the health system.

Expertise and practices in health posts relating to the quality of diagnosis and treatment of patients, and the ability to conduct quality research were noted. The study highlighted a multi-actor approach noted in both intervention countries, working on common objectives. The integration of a triptych (research, capacity building and intervention) gives the project an innovative and unprecedented character.

Youssouf Tine, Director of Health for the Ziguinchor region, praised the project's performance, particularly in terms of strengthening the health system, which is in line with the Senegalese government's Health and Social Development Plan in terms of combating disease and promoting well-being at all ages.

It's a community project, involving ENDA Santé, various doctors, infectiologists and gynecologists, Senegalese academics, research laboratories and the Luxembourg hospital center. Together, they identified projects to be carried out jointly, in line with the needs of the local population. A rather impressive number of partners, in consortium to accompany this project in Ziguinchor, Bignona and Bissau and now in Oussouye in phase 2.

Henri Goedertz, San Access

Nearly 6,000 women screened for cervical cancer and 20,000 people screened for hepatitis B

In Ziguinchor, at least 6,000 women were screened. Those with suspected cases were treated on site in Ziguinchor. For hepatitis B, awareness-raising and screening sessions were held. Over 20,000 people were screened and made aware of the disease. As for HIV/AIDS, a number of patients enrolled were able to continue their treatment and measure their viral load, with the setting up of a laboratory to support the medical region in its response to HIV.

CARES 2 innovations

Phase 2 of CARES II will build on the achievements and address the challenges identified over the next 5 years of its implementation. Major innovations have been introduced and validated by the steering committee.

The aim is for Senegal to strengthen :

  • collaboration between the health faculties of the University of Luxembourg and the Assane Seck University in Ziguinchor for exchanges of students in their year of specialization and practitioners;
  • expansion of intervention zones: implementation of a hepatitis B elimination project in the Oussouye health district (a first in Africa).
  • rehabilitation of health facilities in the Ziguinchor region to strengthen the health system
  • setting up a sub-regional cytology reference unit at the Ziguinchor Peace Hospital (high-level equipment and support)
  • training a cytotechnician in Luxembourg
  • local capacity-building and the exchange of North-South best practices
  • strengthening multi-stakeholder partnerships.

For Guinea Bissau, we note :

  • setting up a program to prevent and manage chronic hepatitis B in Guinea-Bissau (research, viral load, fibroscan and treatment for eligible cases);
  • Extending the program to island areas lacking in health infrastructure and quality human resources (Bubaque Island/Bijagos);
  • strengthening multi-stakeholder partnerships (New site: Military Hospital, Céu e Terra Association)  
  • the possibility of transferring patients with cervical cancer for treatment in Luxembourg (Centre Hospitalier du Luxembourg);
  • support for mammography operations in Bissau.
Share

Publié le 29/01/2024

Réunion du Comité de pilotage international de démarrage du projet CARES II.

Alors que débute au Sénégal et en Guinée Bissau, la phase 2 du projet CARES, les autorités sanitaires en l’occurrence, le directeur de la santé de Ziguinchor, les partenaires techniques, financiers, opérationnels et l’équipe de ENDA Santé se réunissent pour présenter les grandes lignes de la seconde phase du projet sur la période 2024-2027. Cette réunion du Comité de pilotage international se tient annuellement et constitue l’organe stratégique et d’orientation du programme.

Casamance Research Program on HIV-Resistance and sexuel health (CARES) est un projet mis en œuvre par ENDA Santé au Sénégal et en Guinée Bissau à travers le renforcement des capacités des systèmes de santé, à travers la prise en charge cliniques et communautaires des problèmes liés au VIH, au virus de l’hépatite B (VHB), et le papillomavirus (HPV).

Lors de cette réunion, il a été partagé les résultats de l’évaluation externe de la première phase de CARES. Il est ressorti de cette étude la « pertinence » du projet et les effets positifs des interventions en termes de renforcement du système de santé.

Une expertise et des pratiques des postes de santé relevant de la qualité du diagnostic et du traitement des patients et une capacité à mener des recherches de qualité ont été notées. L’étude a mis en exergue une approche multi-acteurs notée dans les deux pays d’intervention travaillant sur des objectifs communs.  Ainsi que l’intégration d’une triptyque (recherche, renforcement de capacités  et intervention) qui confère au projet un caractère innovant et inédit.

Youssouf Tine, Directeur de la santé de la région de Ziguinchor, a salué les performances du projet notamment dans son aspect renforcement du système de santé qui s’aligne sur les orientations de l’État du Sénégal à travers le Plan de développement sanitaire et sociale en termes de lutte contre les maladies et de promotion du bien-être à tous les âges.

Il s’agit d’un projet communautaire, qui a impliqué ENDA Santé, différents médecins, infectiologues et gynécologues, des universitaires du Sénégal, des laboratoires de recherche et du centre hospitalier de Luxembourg. Ensemble, ils ont dégagé des projets à faire en commun qui respectent les besoins des populations. Un nombre de partenaires assez impressionnant, en consortium pour accompagner ce projet sur Ziguinchor, Bignona et sur Bissau et maintenant à Oussouye dans la phase 2.

Henri Goedertz, San Access

Près de 6000 femmes dépistées au cancer du col et 20 000 personnes sensibilisées et dépistées à l’hépatite B

Au niveau de Ziguinchor, au moins 6 000 femmes ont pu être dépistées. Et celles chez qui des suspicions ont été détectées ont pu être traitées sur place à Ziguinchor. Pour l’hépatite B, il y a eu des séances de sensibilisation et de dépistage. Et plus de 20 000 personnes ont été dépistées et sensibilisées. Tout comme pour le VIH/sida plusieurs malades enrôlés ont pu continuer à suivre le traitement et mesurer la charge virale, avec la mise en place d’un laboratoire pour accompagner la région médicale dans la riposte au VIH.

Les innovation de CARES 2

La phase 2 de CARES II va renforcer les acquis et relever les défis identifiés au cours des 5 prochaines années de sa mise en œuvre. Des innovations majeures ont été apportées et validées par le comité de pilotage.

Il s’agira pour le Sénégal de renforcer :

  • la collaboration entre les facultés de santé de l’université de Luxembourg et l’université Assane Seck de Ziguinchor pour des échanges d’étudiants en année de spécialisation et praticiens ;
  • l’élargissement des zones d’intervention : Mise en place d’un projet d’élimination de l’hépatite B dans le district sanitaire de Oussouye (c’est une première en Afrique).
  • la réhabilitation de structures sanitaires dans la région de Ziguinchor pour le renforcement du système de santé
  • la mise en place d’une unité de référence de cytologie à vocation sous régionale à l’hôpital de la paix de Ziguinchor (équipement de haut niveau et accompagnement)
  • la formation d’une cytotechnicienne au Luxembourg
  • le renforcement de capacités locales et l’échanges de bonnes pratiques Nord-Sud
  • le renforcement du partenariat multi-acteurs. 

Pour la Guinée Bissau, notons :

  • la mise en place d’un programme de prévention et prise en charge de l’hépatite chronique B en Guinée-Bissau (recherche, réalisation de charges virales, fibroscan et traitement pour le cas éligible) ;
  • l’élargissement du programme dans les zones insulaires défavorisées en infrastructures sanitaires et de ressources humaines de qualité (île Bubaque / Bijagos) ;
  • le renforcement du partenariat multi-acteurs (Nouveau site : Hôpital militaire, Association Céu e Terra)  
  • la possibilité de transfert des patientes en stade de cancer du col de l’utérus pour traitement au Luxembourg (Centre Hospitalier du Luxembourg) ;
  • l’appui pour le fonctionnement de la mammographie à Bissau.
Partager