Published on 29/11/2019

CARES project: Luxembourg experts in Casamance and Bissau to fight HIV/AIDS, cervical cancer and Hepatitis B

ENDA Santé, in collaboration with the Luxembourg cooperation, implements a programme called Casamance Research Program on HIV-Resistance and Sexual Health "CARES".

This programme aims to improve the health status of the populations living in Ziguinchor and Bissau, through the support of health structures in the clinical and community management of diseases related to HIV, hepatitis B virus (HBV) and papillomavirus (HPV).  

From 14 to 25 October 2019, experts from Luxembourg conducted a field visit to Bissau and Casamance, with the support of frontline actors for hepatitis B and precancerous cervical lesion screening. The mission allowed for the installation of viral load equipment (HIV 1&2, HBV) at the National Laboratory in Bissau and precancerous lesion surgery at the maternity ward of the Simao Mendes National Hospital in Bissau. 

During the working visit, several dozen laboratory technicians and midwives received hands-on training on cervical precancer screening and management, viral load, use of the FibroScan and cytology.

At the end of the mission, the Luxembourg experts met with the project actors to improve the monitoring of the programme and validate the scientific and operational approach of the project.

This working group will have made it possible, in particular, to assess the situation for each research component, to share implementation elements and action plans, but above all to define the project's next steps.  

Share

Publié le 29/11/2019

Projet CARES : Des experts du Luxembourg en Casamance et à Bissau pour lutter contre le VIH/SIDA, le Cancer du col et l’Hépatite B

ENDA Santé, en collaboration avec la coopération luxembourgeoise, met en œuvre un programme dénommé Casamance Research Program on HIV-Resistance and Sexuel Health « CARES ».

Ce programme vise à améliorer l’état de santé des populations vivant à Ziguinchor et à Bissau, à travers l’appui des structures sanitaires dans la prise en charge clinique et communautaire des affections liées au VIH, au virus de l’hépatite B (HBV) et au papillomavirus (HPV).  

Du 14 au 25 octobre 2019, des experts du Luxembourg ont effectué une visite de terrain à Bissau et en Casamance, avec l’appui d’acteurs de première ligne pour le dépistage de l’hépatite B et des lésions précancéreuses du col. La mission a permis de procéder à l’installation de matériels de charge virale (VIH 1&2, VHB) au Laboratoire National de Bissau et de chirurgie des lésions précancéreuses à la maternité de l’Hôpital National Simao Mendes de Bissau. 

Durant la visite de travail, plusieurs dizaines de techniciens de laboratoire et de sages-femmes ont bénéficié d’une formation pratique sur le dépistage et la prise en charge des lésions précancéreuses du col de l’utérus, la charge virale, l’utilisation du FibroScan mais aussi sur la cytologie.

Au terme de la mission, les experts du Luxembourg se sont réunis avec les acteurs du projet pour améliorer le suivi du programme et valider la démarche scientifique et opérationnelle du projet.

Ce groupe de travail aura permis, notamment, de faire la situation pour chaque volet de recherche, de partager les éléments de mise en œuvre et les plans d’action mais surtout de définir les prochaines étapes du projet.  

Partager