Published on 28/11/2023

16 days of activism against gender-based violence

Violence against women and girls remains the most pervasive human rights violation in the world. According to the WHO, more than a quarter of women aged 15 to 49 who have been in a relationship have experienced physical or sexual violence by their partner at least once in their lives (from the age of 15). Estimates of the incidence of lifelong intimate partner violence range from 33 per cent in the WHO African Region.

In Senegal, 27% of women aged 15-49 have experienced physical violence since the age of 15. In 55 per cent of cases, the husband or partner is the perpetrator. The same source also specifies that GBV remains the least visible. 68% of women aged 15-49 who are victims of violence have never talked about it with anyone or sought help.

This gender-based violence is accentuated by the dominant behaviour of men, harmful cultural practices (female genital mutilation, child marriage, early pregnancy, etc.). Its prevalence is further increased by women's low economic power, poverty and illiteracy.

This violence against women and girls causes serious short- and long-term physical, sexual and mental health problems and increases their vulnerability to diseases such as HIV. It generates high economic costs and has serious consequences for society.

ALL UNiS! Invest to prevent violence against women and girls!

"16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence" is an annual campaign that begins on 25 November, the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, and runs until International Human Rights Day on 10 December.

It is led by civil society, the UNiTE to End Violence against Women by 2030 campaign and supported by the United Nations. It provides actors in the fight with a mobilization strategy calling for the prevention and elimination of GBV.

This year's theme is: "UNiTE! Invest to prevent violence against women and girls! ». A plea that calls on governments, civil society organizations, women's movements and men to mobilize and act to put an end to this violence against women and girls.

ENDA Santé's action against GBV

Violence against women is preventable. Civil society organizations have an important role to play in this regard and can take action to help and support victims of GBV. ENDA Santé, whose main mission is to accompany and support vulnerable people, has set up a Regional Centre for the Management of Gender-Based Violence. Actions include identifying, welcoming, preventing, raising awareness and providing integrated health care to women experiencing violence and referring them to other support services they may need.

In addition to this regional GBV care center based in the south of the country (Ziguinchor), projects and programs such as SANSAS, FEVE IMPULSE and WER WERLE also carry out interventions. ENDA Santé, in collaboration with partners :

  • Strengthens the capacity of women and girls to know their health rights;
  • Improves access to healthcare through its mobile strategy;
  • Works to empower women financially through the implementation of income-generating activities.

During the 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence campaign, beyond routine actions, ENDA Santé, in partnership with the actors of the struggle, mobilized through mass social activities, talks with community actors (Bajenu Gox girls' clubs, traditional leaders, religious leaders), radio programs, days of integrated care services. An opportunity to increase awareness, advocacy with decision-makers, the community but also to share our experience in the fight against GBV with the different actors involved in the response to GBV.

Share
Other articles that might interest you

Publié le 28/11/2023

16 jours d’activisme contre les violences basées sur le genre

La violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles reste la violation des droits humains la plus répandue dans le monde. Selon l’OMS, plus d’un quart des femmes âgées de 15 à 49 ans qui ont eu des relations de couple ont subi des violences physiques ou sexuelles de la part de leur partenaire au moins une fois dans leur vie (à partir de l’âge de 15 ans). Les estimations relatives à l’incidence de la violence tout au long de la vie au sein du couple vont  de 33 % dans la région africaine de l’OMS.

Au Sénégal, 27% des femmes de 15-49 ans ont subi des violences physiques depuis l’âge de 15 ans. Dans 55 % des cas, le mari ou le partenaire est l’auteur de ces actes. La même source précise en outre que, la VBG  reste la moins visible. 68% des femmes de 15-49 ans victimes de violences n’en ont jamais parlé avec quelqu’un, ni cherché d’aide.

Cette violence basée sur le genre est accentuée par le comportement dominant des hommes, les pratiques culturelles néfastes (excision, mariage d’enfant, les grossesses précoces etc… sa prévalence est encore accrue par le faible pouvoir économique des femmes, la pauvreté, l’analphabétisme.

Cette violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles est source, à court et à long terme, de graves problèmes de santé physique, sexuelle, mentale et accroît leur vulnérabilité aux maladies telles que le VIH. Elle  engendre des coûts économiques élevés et a des conséquences graves sur la société.

TOUS UNiS ! Investir pour prévenir la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles !

Les16 jours d’activisme contre la violence basée sur le genre » est une campagne annuelle qui commence le 25 novembre, la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes, et se poursuit jusqu’à la Journée internationale des droits de l’homme, le 10 décembre.

Elle dirigée par la société civile, la campagne « Tous UNiS pour mettre fin à la violence à l’égard des femmes d’ici à 2030 » et soutenue par les Nations Unies. Elle offre aux acteurs de la lutte  une stratégie de mobilisation appelant à la prévention et à l’élimination des VBG.

Cette année, le thème retenu est : « TOUS UNiS! Investir pour prévenir la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles ! ». Un plaidoyer qui appelle les gouvernants, les acteurs des organisations de la société civile, les mouvements de femmes, les hommes à se mobiliser et à agir pour mettre fin à cette violence à l’encontre des femmes et des filles.

L’action de ENDA Santé contre les VBG

La violence à l’égard des femmes peut être prévenue. Les organisations de la société civile ont un rôle important à jouer à cet égard et peuvent mener des actions pour aider et accompagner les victimes de VBG. ENDA Santé dont la mission principale est d’accompagner et de soutenir les personnes vulnérables a mis en place un Centre régional de prise en charge des violences basées sur le genre. Les actions consistent à  identifier, accueillir, prévenir  sensibiliser et à offrir des soins de santé intégrés aux femmes soumises à la violence et à les orienter vers les autres services d’appui dont elles pourraient avoir besoin.

Outre ce Centre régional de prise en charge des VBG basé dans le Sud du pays (Ziguinchor), des projets et  programmes tels que SANSAS, FEVE IMPULSE, WER WERLE mènent  également des interventions. ENDA Santé, en collaboration avec des partenaires :

  • Renforce la capacité des femmes et des filles dans la connaissance de leurs droits en santé ;
  • Améliore l’accès aux soins de santé grâce à sa stratégie mobile ;
  • Travaille à rendre les femmes autonomes financièrement à travers la mise en place d’activité génératrice de revenu.

Durant la campagne des 16 jours d’activisme contre les violences basées sur le genre, au-delà des actions de routine, ENDA Santé en partenariat avec les acteurs de le lutte s’ est mobilisée à travers des activités sociales de masse, des causeries avec les acteurs communautaires (clubs de jeunes filles Bajenu Gox, leaders coutumiers, religieux), des émissions radios, des journées d’offres de services de soins intégrés. Une occasion pour accroître la sensibilisation, le plaidoyer auprès des décideurs, de la communauté mais aussi pour partager notre expérience dans la lutte contre les VBG avec les différents acteurs qui interviennent dans la riposte contre les VBG.

Partager